Posted by: Kathryn Hulick | February 21, 2008

The Seaweed Solution

Orr’s Island, Maine. March 5, 2004.

Lindsay Flying

I just talked to a ghost.

I swear I did!

I was sitting down by the bridge counting snails. Don’t laugh! If someone doesn’t watch out, those little guys may just take over the world. There are about a billion more of them every time I turn around.

I’m a scientist, see. I won second place in the Maine science fair last year for my “seaweed solutions” diorama. Did you know if everyone ate seaweed instead of hamburgers for just one day, the amount of energy saved would be enough to send a rocket to Pluto?

You obviously aren’t interested in seaweed. Or snails. No one ever is. You want to know about the ghost, don’t you?

You won’t believe me, so why bother?

Seaweed also helps prevent cancer, improves bone density, and clears up acne. Sounds like the miracle cure, huh? The only problem is, it tastes like slime. No matter how you cook it, it’s more disgusting than spinach, broccoli, and lima beans combined. Snails like it, though. And that’s why they’re going to take over the world. Anyone who wants to rule the world has to learn to like seaweed, because pretty soon it’s all we’re going to have left.

The ghost listened to me when I told her about this. She sat there and nodded and smiled. Not even my science teacher, Mr. Rudolph Gristwood, nods and smiles when I’m talking. The ghost didn’t say “that’s nice, Amber” or “Huh,” or “Really?” Not once. And that’s when I started to get suspicious.

“Have you ever tried seaweed?” I asked the ghost, only I didn’t know she was a ghost yet. I thought she was just another kid hanging out by the bridge.

The ghost shook her head. I wasn’t surprised.

“Well, it tastes like slime, but you get used to it. When I was working on my project…”

I was about to tell her how my seaweed pancake recipe turned into a complete disaster when she fished a piece of knotted wrack–that’s the kind of seaweed with the bubbles in it–out of a tide pool and tried to chew on it!

“Um, you don’t eat it raw!” I shouted, but it was too late. The ghost made a face, leapt into the air, and disappeared.

Not all at once. First one foot, then her middle, then an arm, and in the end she was just one hand up in the air, and then it was gone, too! The air made a sound like fwip, like it was rushing into the place she’d just been.

And all the snails in a two yard radius around that spot were gone, too. Just like that.

Responses

  1. I really enjoyed this, as I have some of your earlier posts (had a quick look but hope to be back another time). Love the concept behind your work: using images is something I have done in the past too.
    In fact, liked your writing so much I’ve added you to my blogroll :>

  2. I love this. Thephot reminds me o the one by Diana at your house taken with her brownie. Keep up the great work

  3. Kathryn, that seaweed/ghost story is absolutely great – made me laugh in my mind (as I am in an office at work and laughing aloud at your PC is a dead give away that you are cruising the web). You are a funny creative person. If you ever want a penpal – email me anytime at: timshenk@hotmail.com (in central NY).

  4. Thanks, lynwood! Where is your blog?

  5. […] Part 1: The Seaweed Solution […]

  6. aha, that’s amazing! snails and seaweed…. i think i’m addicted to your blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

