Posted by: Kathryn Hulick | October 9, 2009

Day Lily Abstract

Watercolor on paper. October 9, 2009.

IMG_4179

It’s too cold to go outside with my oil paints… so I got out the watercolors. I’m usually horribly impatient with them and end up with a mud puddle.

I started painting with bright yellow, then added a little red at the top. I wasn’t sure what to do next, so I made a dark green diagonal line near the bottom then tried to somehow unify this odd composition. Once I realized I’d made a leaf, the flowers started to appear.

The composition of this painting is definitely strange and a little bit awkward, but I like it. The green lines help balance the heavy green line along the right edge, and that dark purple I threw in as a background gives it depth.

Maybe I don’t dislike watercolor as much as I used to!

Leave a Reply

Categories

